More new books, June 2010

New books, all remaindered, from Book Warehouse on Broadway.

  • Patrick French, The World Is What It Is: The Authorised Biography of VS Naipaul (2008) – Everyone reacts badly when I talk about VS Naipaul and by everyone I mean just a couple of people but I’ll read this soon, maybe this summer.  To quote: “As haunting and harrowing a psychological document as you could ask for.” But I should maybe read more of his novels and essays before reading this
  • Amitav Ghosh, Sea of Poppies (2008) – My friend Renee read this, I think, maybe she just mentioned it and it stuck in my mind somehow. My selections from Central Asia and then the British Empire and now, a novel on the Indian Ocean.
  • Neil Steinberg, Drunkard: A Hard-Drinking Life (2008) – This looks really readable.
  • Joseph Weisberg, An Ordinary Spy (2008) – This is a modern spy story, I’ve never heard of it but wow, look at how he’s written it. I’ll put up with a lot to get to a spy story.
  • Mark MacKinnon, The New Cold War: Revolutions, Rigged Elections, and Pipeline Politics in the Former Soviet Union (2007) – Next to the temperate rainforests of North America this is my favourite part of the world.
  • Ted Sorensen, Kennedy (1965) – Gradually, gradually building up to reading some, any Trudeau books. I might not read this for years, but I’m glad to have it and look forward to reading it one day, some day.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

