More New Books, Oct 2010

  • J.R.R. Tolkien, The Return of the King (1955)
  • J.R.R. Tolkien, The Two Towers (1954)
  • J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship Of The Ring (1954) – I almost did not include these in the list or in the photo. The list and the photo and the website are all for books and these are not books. Not just books, at least. I read these first in grade one, then again and again as I learned more and more about how to read. And in large, these books taught me how to read, in a very basic sense. How to imagine a scene, a mood, out of words. I am not a big Tolkien fan in the sense that people are Tolkien fans (i.e. I do not care whether or not the Balrog has wings) and I never did learn to read other fantasy novels. It has been at least 12 years since I last read these. But this is my third set, after reading my dad’s old hardcover set in elementary school and buying my own cheap paperback set in high school. That set is missing a book so I figured I could get a new set for cheap and here it is, three 1974 paperbacks for $15. Now it is all I can do to stop from reading chapters at random whenever I sit down at home. If I do NaNoWriMo again this year, I’ll read these again in November. From PulpFiction on Main.
  • Paul Auster, Leviathan (1992) – I just keep buying his books. From Brown’s Books on Hastings, in Burnaby.
  • Ian Fleming, Diamonds are Forever (1956) – I know I watched it but all I can remember is Las Vegas? And a skyscraper hotel? I think? From Brown’s Books on Hastings.
  • Bret Easton Ellis, The Informers (1994) – From PulpFiction on Main.
  • Alan Furst, Dark Star (1991) – From PulpFiction on Main.
  • Alan Furst, The World at Night (1996) – What a relief, I am reading Night Soldiers right now and I really like it. I knew these two were sitting at PulpFiction, which is why I wanted to read Night Soldiers as soon as possible. Thankfully they were still on hand. Do I shop exclusively at used bookstores for the thrill of the scavenger hunt? From PulpFiction on Main.
  • Vladimir Nabokov, Pnin (1953) – Yes, it is a collector impulse and a scavenger impulse. I could probably get any of these books from a new bookstore or an online bookstore – even used, online – but what makes this fun is seizing the opportunity. This book is here, now, and it may not be tomorrow. So, I am collecting all the Nabokov I can in these old Vintage editions because they are here now; tomorrow? From PulpFiction on Main.
  • Alvah Simon, North To The Night: A Spiritual Odyssey in the Arctic (1998) – Another sailboat memoir. From PulpFiction on Main.
  • Jim Thompson, The Killer Inside Me (1952) – From Brown’s Books on Hastings.
  • Patricia Highsmith, The Boy Who Followed Ripley (1980) – Just need one more to complete the set. These small accomplishments. From Brown’s Books on Hastings.
  • Alice Munro, The Dance of the Happy Shades (1968) – I have a copy of this but it is old and cracked and this one matches the rest. Do you want my old copy? From Brown’s Books on Hastings.
  • John le Carre, Absolute Friends (2003) – From Brown’s Books on Hastings.
  • Patricia Highsmith, The Selected Stories (1971-85) – I had to ask at the counter, you must have a separate section for Patricia Highsmith, because there is nothing in your H section. Brown’s Books is subtitled “House of Mystery” and I can’t imagine that they would just be ‘out this week.’ The woman at the front was just filling in so she had to check the computer, yep, lots of Highsmith listed, but with no location. I made a hapless gesture towards the ‘H’ aisle I had already looked through and there it was, an entirely separate Patricia Highsmith shelf. From Brown’s Books on Hastings.
  • Paul Auster, Man In The Dark (2008) – I can’t wait to read another Paul Auster novel! From PulpFiction on Main.
  • Martin Cruz Smith, Havana Bay (1999) – really hard to find these in trade paperback. I borrowed my mother’s old hardcover Gorky Park and maybe I should read that first. From Brown’s Books on Hastings.
  • Denis Wood, The Power of Maps (1992) – From Brown’s Books on Hastings.
  • William Gibson, Spook Country (2007) – I didn’t like Pattern Recognition but I was interested and frustrated enough to buy the sequel. From PulpFiction on Main.
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “More New Books, Oct 2010

  1. ah, you’ve beaten me to Brown’s – for the past several weekends, husby and I make plans to visit this lovely north Burnaby bookstore/location, and “other things” intervene. Sigh. Great list. Truly mind-boggling to think of your ever growing library. Read on, Macduff

    • I will be back at Brown’s this weekend – they have a book on hold for me!

      • Maja Grip

        Nabokov, excellent. Haven’t read Pnin for so long I barely remember the plot…oh, wait, now I do….yes, wonderful.
        You should also try to find Ada, a favourite Nabokov of mine.
        I am simply astonished that you read JRRT in grade one. Grade ONE. I thought *I* was precocious. If Jack ever leaves me I’m going to bring my reading glasses to your house.

Leave a Reply

